Sick of Being Sick…

January 25, 2011 § 6 Comments

This post is coming to you courtesy of the walking dead. That’s me.

I have been sick pretty consistently for over a month now, the latest being a viral infection (blocked ears, nose, throat, throwing up). In the past month I have had food poisoning, a cold a week, terrible tummy problems and a busload of anxiety. My last doctors visit yesterday came with the results of a breath test (for tummy bugs) and 18 (18!) blood tests. The weirdest thing was, all levels of my health were normal and functioning really well, except for a little higher infection rate, little higher insulin levels and…

…very, very low Vitamin D.

Well, this was a revelation! A few people I know have had terrible health due to just one thing: low Vitamin D levels. If you are inside most of the day (I write from home), and not catching those rays, you could be at risk of developing some health problems. I have been advised to take Vitamin D capsules, and I’m already feeling a slight change two days later. I’ll let you know how it pans out by the end of the month. Maybe you should get yourself checked out by a doctor if you are experiencing the same sorts of problems I was… there is nothing more important than your health!

Lastly, I have felt so terrible in the last month that I was finding it incredibly hard find the good in anything and to write (with a pen!) until I felt the urge to write in my journal all of a sudden a few weeks ago. This is what came out:

“When times get tough and feel they are too much to bear, you learn how wonderful, brilliant, spectacular the most mundane times are when you feel better. One of the only ways to appreciate eating is when you are so sick that you can’t keep the most basic things down. Soon, toast becomes lobster, water becomes wine. To me, this means that Jesus continues to turn water into wine even now.”

Hope this encourages you to appreciate the little things. E xx

§ 6 Responses to Sick of Being Sick…

  • One of my workout buddies actually was diagnosed with the same thing this last fall. She started on the vitamin D pills and they made such a difference!

  • littlecurio says:

    So good to know 🙂 Apparently, people with ‘mediterranean’ skin, like me, have a harder time absorbing Vitamin D than any other type of skin… hope your friend gets better and better!

  • jandy says:

    thank you for commenting on my blog 🙂 just read your “about” page and can I just say, I think that it is very possibly the best about page on the net! I can’t wait to have a look around! and I hope youre feeling better soon 🙂 the line you wronte in your journal was so, perfect xx

    • littlecurio says:

      Thanks so much, that’s really lovely of you! I’m so glad you were encouraged about my journal entry, and it was nice to see your comment when I was feeling pretty crap today too! Thanks again 🙂 x

  • Jaclyn Rae says:

    I love your journal entry! I believe Jesus still does turn water into wine– in many ways 🙂

    I wish you lots of wellness and strength for February. I hope better days come your way soon!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sick of Being Sick… at Little Curio.

meta

